All in all it’s no wonder mascaras are such a coveted beauty item for many. And for those on the market for their newest addition, we rounded up and tested the best clean mascaras available right now. What mbg’s beauty director says: This is one of my personal favorite mascaras—so much so that I once wrote a whole story about how fantastic it is: “This natural mascara holds up, take my word for it—a word from someone who has tested mascaras (clean, natural, and decidedly not) for years and could clock samples up into the hundreds. The amount of compliments I get on my lashes is more than I get with any other mascara. If you’re looking to make the switch to a natural mascara, this one is not to be missed.”  What mbg’s beauty editor says: This mascara not only makes a lasting impact on your lashes, but it made a lasting impression on Schnieder: “If you’re looking for a clean mascara that provides fluttery volume, this mascara is a worthy buy. I’ve truly never experienced a creamier formula, and you can slick on coat after coat without worrying about clumps.” What users say: This is a hit among users (it’s a bestseller and award-winner): “For me it’s all about the brush and how the mascara goes on. This mascara has it all. I’m older so my lashes need a little more help filling in and looking great, this mascara does it. A great find for me.” What mbg’s beauty editor says about it: Recently Schneider wrote about the brand’s newest mascara: “Hot on the heels of the brand’s first mascara launch comes its new long-wear formula. Rather than relying on microplastic film formers (like acrylate copolymers), this number features plant-based sugars that work as a natural binder, so you’ll get 12 hours of smudge-free length and curl.”   What users say:  Scroll through the reviews and you’ll get a sense of how popular this option is: There are a lot of superlatives like “great,” “perfect,” and “amazing.” One reviewer even noted it was the mascara she’d waited two decades for: “I am constantly looking for a magical mascara and after over 20 years of searching have found it! It layers great, and does not flake!! Love it!” What mbg’s beauty editor says: When this product launched, Jamie Schneider wrote about how much she adores the formula: “My lashes are naturally quite long and curly—you’d never know it, though, because they’re very light and practically disappear in the sun. My eyes are also extremely sensitive, and mascara can easily irritate the delicate area. This ophthalmologist-tested number may just be my new tried-and-true favorite.”  What mbg’s beauty editor says: Schneider also had high praise for this length-creating mascara. Particularly, she loved the brush: “My favorite feature is the cone-shaped brush: The tapered tip allows you to grab those smaller, stubborn lashes at the inner and outer corners, making sure you coat every last hair.”  What mbg’s assistant beauty editor says:  Our beauty team is always testing out new products, including this brand-new launch. Assistant beauty editor Hannah Frye was a fan of it both day and night: “Some mascaras are best fit for a night out while others are perfect for an everyday look—this one does both. The buildable vegan formula and micro-bristle brush make sure no lash gets left behind, sans clumping. Even the sparsest lashes appear full after a swipe or two of this mascara.”  What reviewers say:  Users agree that their lashes appear more lifted after use: “I really love this mascara. It helps lengthen and make my eyes look bigger. I like the brush, it helps separate the eyelashes nicely. It adds volume to my straight eyelashes and keeps my lashes curl all day. I highly recommend this mascara.” What mbg’s beauty director says: It’s not just the curling ability of this mascara that I adore, it’s also infused with a pretty great active ingredient: “The star player in this blend is the algae extract. Algae has an incredible ability to soothe and has some pretty impressive antioxidant properties. Another benefit? Users say it improves lash curl by nearly 50%—so grab this one if your eyelash curler needs an assist.” What users say:  The brand touts this as long-wear, and honestly, so do the users: “I kept seeing this mascara on Instagram and just kept making excuses not to get it, but I finally caved and OHHH MYYY so glad I did! It doesn’t contain water so don’t expect instant perfect lashes: The formula is designed to be buildable to apply as much or as little product as your lashes desire. I love the control! I know that it lasts all day too. I originally purchased it in brown, and now I have all the shades—I love it that much! Seriously, do yourself a favor.” What the users say: Reviewers keep on raving about the subtle look and major lifting effect: “I love how easy it is to apply. The mascara really lengthened and curled my super straight lashes. No clumps, super soft, and subtle look. It looks like I did a lash lift. It makes the lashes feel strengthened.” What users say: Westman Atelier has built a loyal customer base thanks to the brand’s luxe and effective offerings. This mascara is no different. Here’s what one reviewer had to say: “I finally decided to try this mascara and couldn’t be happier. I was expecting a lot based on the price point and it delivered. No smudging, easy application, easy removal and a true black. It is the only clean mascara I have tried that delivered on eyelash definition, thickening and no clumps. The packaging is beautiful too.” What mbg’s beauty director says:  Recently I tested out the formula for a few weeks, and here were my thoughts: “You don’t have to spend top dollar to get a quality, clean mascara—my obsession with this drugstore option is proof. And I can’t help but be amazed by the feedback I’m getting from other people. Being a beauty editor opens you up to curiosities about your makeup routine, so I’m used to people asking for recommendations. But the volume of comments I get from this formula is worthy of note: Just the other day a stranger asked me about my lashes while I was wearing it.” What users say:  There’s a reason this product is bestselling and award-winning! Here’s what one user wrote: “I’ve been looking for a mascara to give me my younger eyelashes. I used to have full, long and curly eyelashes (never used a curler in my life), but they were fair. So just about any mascara worked. With age they’ve gotten somewhat sparse and most of the curl is gone. I’ve been looking for a mascara that could give them fullness without clumping, smudging or flaking and any curl. I’ve tried high end brands, drugstore brands, and clean brands. Then I found Honest and everything I was looking for was there. It’s clean, gives fullness, curl and staying power. I thought I lost it the other day and panicked, that’s how much I love this mascara.”  What users say:  For customers who want natural formulas and a natural aesthetic, this is for you. As one user writes: “I was looking for a light, natural looking mascara that would be nice for every-day/casual looks but still give some definition to look like I have something on my eyes. I wasn’t expecting nearly this much volume and length! It was just as I wanted, not heavy, not too dramatic but still gave volume and length!” What mbg beauty director says: As I once wrote about this mascara: “This wand made its rounds around the mindbodygreen office when it first launched, and let me tell you: There were capital-F Fans. The silky liquid coats individual lashes from root to tip—and then doesn’t budge. But then, when you go to take it off, the tubing formula washes away with just warm water and a washcloth.” Mainstream mascaras lean on preserves like parabens, which more and more people are choosing to avoid. Clean mascaras still have preservatives (again: a good thing!), just newer versions that are thought to be better, such as citric acids, potassium sorbate sodium benzoate, caprylyl glycol, and fermented ingredients. The good news is that clean mascara formulas have come a long way in the last few years. Naturally derived and responsible synthetic ingredients have leveled up. Innovative blends of plant waxes, botanical oils, and bio-based synthetics mean these formulas have as much flexibility, hold, and wearability as their mainstream counterparts.    Our high standards also come from testing products—many, many products. Our editors and writers rigorously test and research the products featured in our roundups to offer you the best, most informed recommendations. When we write reviews, you can trust we spend quality time with the formulas: We don’t simply rave about products we’ve slathered on the back of our hand. We endorse products we’ve tried and loved. Learn more about our testing process and clean beauty standards here.

The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 61The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 38The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 31The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 70The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 27The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 52The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 81The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 99The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 87The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 18The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 81The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 21The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 98The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 6The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 18The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 69The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 66The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 87The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 49The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 52The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 28The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 33The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 65The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 32The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 72The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 27The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 66The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 43The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 7The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 9The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 17The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 92The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 89The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 42The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 87The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 5The 17 Best Mascaras Of 2023   From Organic To Drugstore - 40